top of page

About Us

Our Mission

The mission of New Orleans Alumnae Chapter embodies a commitment to public service and the New Orleans Alumnae  Chapter proudly uses its collective resources to recover,  restore, and rejuvenate the community in which it resides. In keeping with the precepts set forth in January 1913, by the visionary Founders of the sisterhood, the chapter works to provide exemplary services and outstanding programs.

Our History

In 1936 amid the Federal government’s “New Deal” implementation, eleven women “filled with faith and hope” organized and applied for a charter from the Grand Chapter. On June 20, 1936, a charter was issued for Alpha Zeta Sigma Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Later, members requested a name change and in November 1936, the chapter’s name was changed to Alpha Eta Sigma. Due to a change in Delta’s nomenclature Alpha Eta Sigma became the New Orleans Alumnae (NOA).

NOA is the proud home of the 24th National President, Cynthia Butler McIntyre, Gloria Bryant-Banks, past National Secretary, Carolyn E. Lewis, past National Treasurer, and past SW Regional Director, Pamela M. Rogers and SW Regional Representative, Michelle Easton. Additionally, NOA is the home of the sorority’s first 2nd National Vice President, Mattie Braden.

During its 85-year history, NOA hosted Regional Conferences in 1947, 1968 and 1991 and National Conventions in 1979, 1998, 2010 and 2019. The first Ecumenical service was held at the 1979 National Convention.

 The chapter has possessed a steely resolve executing volunteerism and philanthropy which embodies the Five Point Programmatic Thrust of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Among our many achievements over the past eighty-five years, the New Orleans Alumnae Chapter has continuously advocated for youth, providing nearly $1,000,000.00 in scholarships. We have collaborated with civic and community organizations, and strategic partners, including UNCF, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, The National Council of Negro Women, NAACP, and countless other local and national associations. NOA has sought to heighten the public’s awareness, regarding political and social issues that affect our community. 

 We have traveled across international borders donating books and clothing to children, youth, and families in Jamaica, and extending on-going financial support to the sorority’s programs in Africa and across the world. The chapter regularly assists the Sorority in providing funding for uniforms, meals, and the physical maintenance of the Cynthia M.A. Butler-McIntyre School in Cherette, Haiti.


For 85 years, the chapter has persevered through unparalleled challenges, withstanding extraordinary weather events and the coronavirus pandemic. NOA continues to impact the community with creative and award-winning programming.

Greek Letters 2.jpg
NOA Founders1.jpg
NOA Founders2.jpg
bottom of page